User Permissions

Permissions are grouped together into logical roles, with each role having only the actions it requires assigned to it, each user can have one or more roles assigned to them.

Editing a User

Once logged in and with the correct permissions yourself, you can then begin to Edit users to change their permissions.

User can be searched for from the User Administration page, once you have found the person you are after click the "Edit" link this will give you a list of checkboxes with the permissions to assign to them. Simply tick the ones you require and hit "Save".

Roles

For a full list of roles, (it may have changed since this was written), please hit "Edit" on any user.

Section Editors

All of the roles listed below have the similiar permissions; each of them can add, edit or delete News Stories, Diary Events and Static Pages within their respective category.

  • Beavers, Cubs, Scouts, Explorers, Network & Scout Active Support.
  • Activities, International & Training.

District/Group Editors

  • District Names, (e.g. City of Westminster or Stanmore & District)

Each district is given a role, this enables them to edit their respective page and add any group or explorer unit pages to the site.

  • Group/unit editor

Can add, edit and delete any Group page, Explorer, Network or SAS Unit page.

Administrators/County Team

All of these have access to all categories for the relevant content type they represent and Administrator is obvious.

  • Diary editor
  • News editor
  • Page editor
  • administrator

Setting up a new Role

This is a tricky process which needs to be done in 4 steps:

Add a role

You can add a new role to the website from the Roles page.

Permission it

Click "edit permissions" from the Roles page, a long list will be presented. In this set you should set the permissions for users to just add new content. This step does not deal with Editing or Deleting content.

Tie it down

You should now have a role which you can add new Content, however not Edit or Delete anything. We do this because we have a second permissions screen that allows the Role to be granted Editing or Deleting privileges based on Category.

Please go to the Taxonomy Access Permissions page, find your new Role and hit "Enable". You should now be presented with an editing screen, with headings View, Update, Delete, Create & List.

The left column allows you select a category, then either "Allow" or "Deny" each permission denoted by the column heading. The "I" option stands for Implied which means it will get whatever the previous Role had, by default all users have the Anonymous Role and everyone logged in has the Authenticated User role, so some permissions are set in these.

Final Tweaks

At runtime the roles will be applied in a specific order to ensure the correct permissions for certain modules. The problem with this is that when a new role is added it is appended as the last to go through this set of checks and needs to be at least in front of the Anonymous and Authenicated User roles for one modules in particular, the Input Formats module.

To solve this problem please go to the Input Formats page, if you want the new roles to be able to use the full Editor then please add it to the Full HTML list of roles, then using the "Defaults" tab, please set the "Full HTML" option as the default for the new role.

This is not quite the end, now each Content Type must be updated to reflect the order I was discussing earlier. Go to the Content Type page, select "Edit" then expand the "Input Formats" section and re-order them so that your new role is above the Anonymous and Authenticated User roles.

Now you can sit back and enjoy your new role, please see the above section on this page for how to Set a user Role.